The Hoyt recurve backpack follow-up review

As promised in the original review, here is a follow-up. I have been using the Hoyt recurve backpack for several months now and it is as useful as I expected, as well as comfortable to wear. The rain cover works well too.

One thing I noticed is that it is important to put the riser to the inner pocket closer to your back and the limbs to the other one. If you do it the other way round, the centre of mass will be too far out and will pull the backpack away from your back, which is uncomfortable. Unless, of course, you have one of the super light carbon fibre risers.

For the next generation of the backpack I suggest adding a hip belt of the style that big outdoor backpacks have. The tiny strip the backpack comes with is too short and strangely positioned, so it is useless, at least to me.

Overall, I like the backpack a lot. It has made my 30+ minute “commute” (i.e., walk) to archery practice much, much easier.

~ by veronikab on 3 November, 2008.

11 Responses to “The Hoyt recurve backpack follow-up review”

  1. How do you keep the brace height of your bow constant when you take it down?

  2. You have to measure it every time and adjust by twisting or untwisting the string. It is a bit of a bother. It helps to keep the ends of the string together either by threading the end loops through each other or using a clip.

  3. My primary bow is a Martin Hatfield, which is technically a take-down, but I never take it down because I worry about messing up the configuration. I worry that taking it apart and putting it back together will make it behave differently. I have the brace height tuned very nicely, and I don’t want to have to re-adjust it every time I unstring it. Certainly using a clip would minimize that need.

  4. Just a note on keeping your recurve set up. Okay if you are shooting a two-day FITA competition but your limbs need to ‘unwind’ after a while – and strings do stretch after a while too. I would love to leave mine set up – it is a faff setting up each time but ‘the build’ is also part of the recurve archers shooting routine. Waxing your string regularly also helps to keep its shape so it doesn’t untwist.

  5. I don’t leave it strung, Southpaw. I just don’t remove the limbs from the riser. I treat it like a non-takedown wooden recurve.

  6. Gotcha Lune. Makes sense. It’s amazing how many archers (including me in the early days!) don’t even bother to measure their bracing height. I now set mine 1 eighth over a pen mark on the T-gauge so it settles back to the sweet point after a warm up end. Anyway… back to the backpack. Its now on my list for Santa. In fact, at £68 (Perris Archery) its probably the only thing on my list! Great review Veronikab. Thanks.

  7. Good old days when one did not worry about the bracing height… I remember them well too. 🙂

    I am glad the review has been useful to you, Southpaw.

  8. £68 ?! You can get it from the Hoyt online store for $43 (£29). Perhaps the additional cost is for shipping from Utah?

  9. Thanks for that Lune. £29 sounds so much better – even with US postage and customs tax added.

  10. Ah! I think that is just a standard back pack – not the recurve one but thanks anyway.

  11. I just bought three backpacks for my three kids..they just loves it…for those who want the technical spec of the backpack please visit this website http://www.abbeyarchery.com.au/p/HYRBP/Hoyt+Recurve+Backpack.html

Leave a Reply

 
