Food in a foreign country

First trip to buy groceries in a Japanese supermarket without the support of my Japanese-speaking friends. Would I have to stick with apples and other easily recognisable foodstuffs, I wondered.

One of the first things I spotted in the shop were McVittie’s Chocolate Digestives, right next to a pack of Oreos. Aha. No worries. Next came several brands of marmite. While I am game for trying foreign foods, I am not quite brave enough to try marmite. I mentally marked the seaweed aisle, though, with the intention of returning there later when I will have learned which seaweed is which, but for the time being I resorted to items which either had an English translation, or were self-explanatory, or where I remembered the packaging.

Unpacking the shopping bags at home revealed that I had indeed bought what I thought I was buying, including the soya milk, and the only casualty was the butter which turned out to be salted. Well, that could happen to anyone.

After a visit to a local sushi restaurant I am already addicted to vegetarian sushi, sweet potatoes, and some sort of beans that are served in their pods. The pods cannot be eaten, though, as I found out (unfortunately my friend was not quite quick enough to warn me). The peas have a slightly nutty flavour. I will have to ask how they are called, perhaps they can be got in Europe too. And yes, learning how to make sushi is high on the agenda. It can’t be that difficult. Once you learn to prepare Czech dumplings, the kitchen holds no terrors for you.

~ by veronikab on 24 October, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
