Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate

Incidentally, if anyone can tell me whether the preposition “at” in the title of this post is correct, I would be grateful. The photos below are from a trip to the Ashridge Estate we made with a friend earlier this year. As usual, click on the pictures to get a larger version on Flickr.

Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate   Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate

Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate                 Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate

~ by veronikab on 8 August, 2008.

3 Responses to “Spring woodland at the Ashridge Estate”

  1. “At” as opposed to what? “In” ? As a native speaker of American English, I don’t see anything wrong with the title, but I’m not a professional linguist.

  2. I thought about “On”. Thanks for reassuring me. When you start learning English at Czech schools, one of the first things they tell you is “Do not ever expect to know when to use which preposition.” so I guess I have a slight school-induced trauma in this respect. 😉

  3. As I think about it, I wouldn’t blink at the use of any of those prepositions. Then again, I live in an area where kids use the word “like” seven times in every sentence. So, perhaps I’m inured to “bad” English. Still, I believe that languages are dynamic, organic, evolving things that vary and change. I’m reminded of this every time I see a Shakespeare play.

Leave a Reply

 
